Effective September 2022, the American Board of Clinical Lipidology (ABCL) and theĀ Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology (ACCL) have unified for the administration of certifying examinations. The eligibility requirements for each discipline have not changed and are found within the menu on this site.


Join the ranks of a thousand health care professionals who have achieved certification as a Lipid Specialist. The American Board of Clinical Lipidology offers the only certifications of its kind for licensed physicians and for other healthcare professionals in the United States and Canada. Physicians designated as Diplomates of the American Board of Clinical Lipidology and other healthcare professionals designated as Clinical Lipid Specialists (CLS) demonstrate their commitment to improving the care for patients with dyslipidemia and related comorbidities.

Lutheran General Cardiology Fellows

Congratulations to the graduating class of Lutheran General Cardiology Fellowship who certified as Diplomates of the ABCL in 2023. From left: Sujeen Adhikari, MD; Namra Butt, MD; Alan Brown, MD (Program Director); Sarah Doleeb, MD. Dr. Doleeb and Dr. Butt are joining hospitals in the Advocate Aurora system and plan to start lipid clinics. Dr. Adhikari is joining Oregon Health and Sciences University and is pursuing fellowship for advanced imaging.


Plan your certification journey by reviewing eligibility criteria, exam information, and fees for certification.


June 15 – August 3, 2024

Application Deadline: Friday, June 7, 2024

September 21 – November 9, 2024

Application Deadline: Friday, September 13, 2024


Lipid Specialists come from many different medical specialties, practice settings, and professional disciplines.