Lipid Focused Continuing Medical Education is defined by the ABCL as certified continuing medical education activities on topics relating to lipids and dyslipidemia including, but not limited to:

  • Advanced lipoprotein metabolism
  • Atherosclerosis
  • Atherosclerosis imaging
  • Cardiovascular disease and coronary artery disease
  • Diabetic dyslipidemia
  • Evidence supporting dyslipidemia treatment guidelines
  • Lifestyle management of dyslipidemias
  • Metabolic Syndrome
  • Obesity and CVD
  • Preventive cardiology
  • Pharmacologic management of dyslipidemias
  • Vascular biology

Sources of Lipid-Focused CME

The NLA provides numerous opportunities for you to earn "lipid focused" CME credit. Any CME activity that is endorsed or sponsored by the NLA or a regional chapter (the Midwest Lipid Association, Northeast Lipid Association, Pacific Lipid Association, Southeast Lipid Association, or Southwest Lipid Association) will be automatically accepted by the credentialing committee. The NLA Self-Assessment Program (NLA-SAP) and NLA Masters in Lipidology Course are utilized by the majority of our applicants to earn CME credit toward sitting for the exam. The ABCL Board strongly encourages all applicants to complete these programs and to attend at least one NLA Clinical Lipid Update or NLA Annual Scientific Session per year to stay current in the field.


The NLA Self-Assessment Program

The National Lipid Association (NLA) developed the National Lipid Association Self-Assessment Program (NLA-SAP) to provide a critical assessment of your knowledge and to guide you in the selection of additional training courses as well as prepare you for certification in clinical lipidology. The NLA-SAP works to objectively validate and enhance your clinical knowledge of the core curriculum in clinical lipidology as well as challenge your problem-solving skills in the diagnosis and management of patients with dyslipidemia. For more information, visit